It was all a dream : : Biggie and the world that made him

Title It was all a dream : : Biggie and the world that made him
Names Tinsley, Justin.
Book Number DB112046
Title Status In Process
Narrator Graham, Dion.
Language English
Annotation "The Notorious B.I.G. was one of the most charismatic and talented artists of the 1990s. Born Christopher Wallace and raised in Clinton Hill/Bed Stuy, Brooklyn, Biggie lived an almost archetypal rap life: young trouble, drug dealing, guns, prison, a giant hit record, the wealth and international superstardom that came with it, then an early violent death. Biggie released his first record, Ready to Die, in 1994, when he was only 22. Less than three years later, he was killed just days before the planned release of his second record Life After Death. Journalist Justin Tinsley's It Was All a Dream is a fresh, insightful telling of the life beyond the legend. It is based on extensive interviews with those who knew and loved Biggie, including neighbors, friends, DJs, party promoters, and journalists. And it places Biggie's life in context, both within the history of rap but also the wider cultural and political forces that shaped him, including Caribbean immigration, the Reagan era disinvestment in public education, street life, the war on drugs, mass incarceration, and the booming, creative, and influential 1990s music industry. This is the story of where Biggie came from, the forces that shaped him, and the legacy he has left behind." -- Provided by publisher. -- Unrated. Commercial audiobook.
Medium Digital Books
Local Subject Unrated - UNRAT
Biography - BIO
Music & Musicians - 780
Music - Vocal music - 782
African American interest - AFAI
African Americans - Biography
Black Interest - BLKIN
LC Subject African American musicians - Biography
Rap musicians - United States - Biography
Call Number 782.421649092 ANF
Publication Info Washington, D.C. : National Library Service for the Blind and Print Disabled, Library of Congress,
Original Publication Reissue of: Unabridged. [Solon] : OrangeSky Audio, 2022. 9781667068213
This item is currently in your Book Basket.