Marked man : : Frank Serpico's inside battle against police corruption

Title Marked man : : Frank Serpico's inside battle against police corruption
Names Florio, John.
Shapiro, Ouisie. Author
Book Number DB120346
Title Status In Process
Language English
Annotation "Marked Man tells the propulsive story of Frank Serpico who, in the 1960s, single-handedly rooted out systematic corruption in the New York Police Department. Since the NYPD was formed in 1845, the famous "pad" was as much a criminal ring as it was a legitimate police force. As the decades wore on, corruption became so out of hand that cops were regularly demanding payments from brothels, bars, pool halls, and gambling joints to keep them out of trouble with the law. It was a multimillion-dollar-a-year business that everyone seemed to turn a blind eye to. Everyone, that is, except Frank Serpico. Delve into this true story of corruption and greed, of the dark history of the largest police department in the US, and the price one man pays for doing what he thinks is right. Perfect for fans of Steve Sheinkin and Rebecca Barone, Marked Man is a dive into one man's courageous fight against a corrupt system."-- Provided by publisher. -- Strong language and some violence. For senior high and older readers.
Medium Digital Books
Audience Notes Contains strong language. NLS/BPH
Contains some violence. NLS/BPH
For senior high and older readers. NLS/BPH
Local Subject True crime stories
Nonfiction
Law & Legal Issues - 340
Social problems - Criminology, Crime - 364
Social sciences - 300
Social problems - Other - 363
Social problems, services & associations - 360
LC Subject Police administration - New York (State) - New York
Police corruption - New York (State) - New York
Young adult nonfiction
Call Number 363.209747 ANF
Publication Info Washington, D.C. : National Library Service for the Blind and Print Disabled, Library of Congress,
Original Publication Recorded from: First edition. New York : Roaring Brook Press, 2024.
This item is currently in your Book Basket.