All the world beside

Title All the world beside
Names Conley, Garrard.
Book Number DB121405
Title Status Active
Language English
Annotation "Cana, Massachusetts: a utopian vision of 18th-century Puritan New England. To the outside world, Reverend Nathaniel Whitfield and his family stand as godly pillars of their small-town community, drawing Christians from across the New World into their fold. One such Christian, physician Arthur Lyman, discovers in the minister's words a love so captivating it transcends language. As the bond between these two men grows more and more passionate, their families must contend with a tangled web of secrets, lies, and judgments which threaten to destroy them in this world and the next. And when the religious ecstasies of the Great Awakening begin to take hold, igniting a new era of zealotry, Nathaniel and Arthur search for a path out of an impossible situation, imagining a future for themselves which has no name. Their wives and children must do the same, looking beyond the known world for a new kind of wilderness, both physical and spiritual. Set during the turbulent historical upheavals which shaped America's destiny and following in the tradition of Nathaniel Hawthorne's The Scarlet Letter, All the World Beside reveals the very human lives just beneath the surface of dogmatic belief. Bestselling author Garrard Conley has created a page-turning, vividly imagined historical tale that is both a love story and a crucible"-- Provided by publisher. -- Unrated. Commercial audiobook.
Medium Digital Books
Local Subject Unrated - UNRAT
Novels
LGBTQ+ Interest - LGBT
LGBTQ+ Adult Fiction - LGBTF
American fiction - Pre 1970 - 813
American literature in English - 810
LC Subject Gay fiction
Romance stories
Gay men - Fiction
Clergy - Fiction
Physicians - Fiction
Family secrets - Fiction
Great Awakening - Fiction
Massachusetts - Fiction
Historical fiction
Fiction
Call Number 813.6 AFI
Publication Info Washington, D.C. : National Library Service for the Blind and Print Disabled, Library of Congress,
Original Publication Reissue of: New York : Penguin Random House, 2024. 9780593829295
This item is currently in your Book Basket.